PSMJ Resources Inc. Announces 2012 Award Winners

Awards were given to 48 top A/E industry firms for outstanding financial and customer service performance at the 5th Annual A/E/C Industry Summit.

NEWTON, MA — PSMJ Resources, Inc., the premier management consulting firm for the A/E/C(architecture/engineering/construction) industry, celebrated the achievements of the industry's top-firms with the announcement of the 2012 winners of three special awards last night. The three awards (PSMJ's Circle of Excellence Award, the Premier Award for Client Satisfaction, and the Platinum Award) produced 48 winners, and were announced during a special awards dinner at the 5th Annual A/E/C Industry Summit in Orlando, FL.

PSMJ's 2012 Circle of Excellence Award (COE) is designed to highlight firms that are successfully managed, based on 13 key performance metrics that demonstrate outstanding achievements in profitability, overhead, cash flow, productivity, business development, staff growth, and turnover. The COE represents the top 20% of participants in PSMJ's annual A/E Financial Performance Benchmark Survey Report. Congratulations to 40 exceptional firms that have risen to the top this year, despite economic adversity and drastic changes within the industry!

  • A/R/C Associates, Inc.
  • Anderson Perry & Associates, Inc.
  • Architectural Engineering Consultants, Inc.
  • Argus Consulting, Inc.
  • Array Healthcare Facilities Solutions
  • Atlantic Coast Consulting, Inc.
  • Barr Engineering Company
  • Bluestone Engineering
  • Brown Engineers, LLC
  • Commonwealth Engineers, Inc.
  • Cooperative Network Services, LLC
  • Design Engineers
  • Devenney Group Ltd., Architects
  • EEC P.S.C. Environmental Standards, Inc.
  • FEH Associates Inc.
  • Freese and Nichols, Inc.
  • GBBN Architects, Inc.
  • GEC Architecture
  • Geosyntec Consultants
  • Great West Engineering, Inc.
  • Hart Design Group, Ltd
  • Ireland Architects
  • Klohn Crippen Berger Ltd.
  • Larson Design Group
  • Luckett & Farley Niles Bolton Associates
  • Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc.
  • Patterson & Dewar Engineers, Inc.
  • Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects
  • Professional Engineering Associates, Inc.
  • Ready Engineering Corporation
  • RMF Engineering
  • Robinson Consultants Inc.
  • Rowland+Broughton Architecture and Urban Design
  • S&F Engineers, Inc.
  • Schmidt Design Group, Inc.
  • Sebesta Blomberg
  • SPEC Services, Inc.
  • Thomas, Miller & Partners, PLLC
  • WalterFedy
  • Wright-Pierce

The Premier Award for Client Satisfaction is presented in partnership with DesignFacilitator, and honors A/E/C firms that provide their clients with top quality communications, impressive performance, and cost effective solutions. In its third year, the Premier Award participants included several dozen firms from the United States and Canada, many with international offices, making this a truly global competition. The firms included architects, engineers, geo-scientists, environmental consultants, and others - creating a diverse cross-section of professional services. Six firms were selected as stand-out winners, while 2 were selected to receive Honorable Mentions:

  • BB&E Consulting Engineers & Professionals
  • Burns & McDonnell
  • Geo-Hydro Engineers, Inc.
  • J. M. Waller Associates, Inc. (Honorable Mention)
  • Klein and Hoffman, Inc.
  • KL Engineering (Honorable Mention)
  • Prunuske Chatham Inc. (Small Firms Category)
  • Sunrise Engineering, Inc.

Two of these firms, Burns & McDonnell and Sunrise Engineering, Inc., havewon the Premier Award three years in a row.

New this year, the Platinum Award was given to firms that have been included in PSMJ's Circle of Excellence for the past 4 years in a row. This award celebrates the extraordinary achievement of excelling in the A/E/C industry through the ups and downs of the economy over recent turbulent years in the industry. These firms share in common: highly profitable financial performance, remarkable business success, and overall growth. These firms are 6 truly successful A/E/C firms and PSMJ would like to congratulate them on this outstanding achievement:

  • Klohn Crippen Berger LTD
  • Larson Design Group (LDG)
  • Luckett & Farley
  • SPEC Services, Inc.
  • Thomas, Miller & Partners, PLLC
  • Wright-Pierce

Congratulations again to all the 2012 winners!

About PSMJ's A/E/C Industry Summit : PSMJ's A/E/C Industry Summit is an annual conference where A/E/C firm leaders get two days of intense and energizing sessions aimed directly at issues facing the A/E/C industry today and in the near future. Frank A.Stasiowski, FAIA, and Dave Burstein, P.E., PSMJ's resident experts possessing acombined 80+ years of industry and firm management experience, give statistics and advice to design firm leaders in attendance and let the audience know where the A/E/C industry is headed, while dozens of our industry's top leaders speak on day-to-day issues, making the Summit PSMJ's must-attend event of the year!

The 2013 A/E/C Industry Summit will be held in Las Vegas, NV on December 5-6, 2013 (with pre-conference events on December 4). For more information on this conference, or to register for next year's event, go to

AboutPSMJ: PSMJ conducts more than 200 A/E/C educational seminars and conferences annually, supported by major professional societies, such as The American Institute ofArchitects (AIA) and The American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC). Headquartered in Newton, MA, USA, PSMJ offers more than 150 titles in book, audio, and video and publishes two newsletters on A/E/C firm management. PSMJ also produces the industry's preeminent annual surveys on management salaries, financial performance and fees and pricing.

About DesignFacilitator: DesignFacilitator has created a customized, web-based tool to help engineers, architects and interior designers collect and utilize valuable feedback from their clients. This survey mechanism presents objective, specific feedback from existing clients to confirm a firm's quality, value and helpfulness. For more information about DesignFacilitator or to try their ClientFeedback tool, go to

Press Contact:

Jennifer Bentley
Director of Marketing
(617) 965-0055